Why do she/he wants he/she (Atlas Shruggs – VII)

Read just couple of pages in the past three days(Damn it..Now i need to read but got to run to office!)

But those had invoked/answered a melange of thoughts regarding something which me and my friends used to debate a lot “Why should a men seek a woman or viceversa??”

Prelude:

After their victory ride Dagny and Hank sleep together,(FYI Hank is an industraliast who loves his metal ores more than anything else– already married .. Dagny is MISS Dagny Taggart – The girl who runs the Taggart International.. She loves her rail roads more than anything else..She is still MISSed by someone) . The next morning when Hank wakes up he is non-chalant towards her. He says ” I have given in to a desire which i despise”.

Body:

Hank feels as if he has lost him to Dagny –Β  an ugly deed which he now wants to hide; He warns Dagny not to derive anything out of it and begs Dagny not to make him dependent on her. His uttered insouciant words aiming to prick Dagny’s heart. I cant resist quoting Ayn’s Hank

“I held it as my honor that I would never need anyone ” (Infact this is one reason behind me calling myself peerless ).

Infact I had ignored any thoughts of binding with someone for the very subtle reason that I dont want to be dependent on anyone other than me for my happiness and sorrow (Atleast not so at this stage of my life when i have my John Galt line to be laid). Even I dont like my mom or dad taking more than necessary care on me. (But realised what it meant when I had that fever last week:)). Of course as humans we need someone to speak with,cry to ,laugh with and laugh at. But that takes some cost. And here Hank is not ready to pay it inspite of he being able to pay anything for the JohnGalt line.

Let me know from guys who started early or in the process of life , dont you feel that the yesterdays were better than the current days. I mean bachelor’s life is better than family life. On the positive side you have or make a family and derive some pleasure out of it. But the cost you pay for that is tremendous;Sometimes its your freedom.

Inference:

The emotional dependence (atleast in the society which I see) should be reduced in relationships.Atleast I swear to my girl (not linux the human one) that she can have her own likes and dislikes and should permit me to have my owns. It aches when I see a man in front of me ordering for his spouse. (On top of all he doesnt take care to enquire the menu …simply orders something! Only after ordering he finds out that Idly is available in the hotel which seems to be the preference of the wife – She never asked for it:() If things go that way even for a simple choice,I guess she is left without choices in the most complex choices of life.

Physical attractions arent bound to be bonded for long – so as in the case of Dagny and his wife. He needs she to complement himself and vice versa. I dont disagree that there is a physical need according to the laws of nature;but the emotional compliment is more than it for the simple reason all X can react with Y to produce ZΒ  but the state and quality of Z depends on the pre and post reaction behaviour of X and Y which is directly related to their emotional balance and compatibilty.

Lets look at the probable reasons for the relationship!

This rules out the most common love at sight philosophy (Though at times I have ogled at some samples of the other species I never thought of it in the long term.)

Next reason is the empathy shared b/w the two – This works to an extent but as far as my experience in love (True I have!)- love tastes sweet only till you explore the unknowns of her/him. Once you understand him completely the fun of love is lost and the daily banal exercises wont taste sweeter in the long term.

Hey moron..are you mad ?? – Thats how I scream at me.. I demand understanding at first point and wants to deny the same at the second. True! Thats how it should be. An understanding between the two which makes them feel that the probability unexplored part of the other self is going to be interesting for their self is high! Thats the level of understanding – never shallow nor complete.

Conclusion:

She needs he because she as a human got certain duties to perform (in plain text human evolution producing an offspring with good muscles and better nerves and neuron’s). And he is a colleague (Some societies accept many colleagues:))Β  who also share the same responsibility and makes the job fun and turns it in to a play rather than a painful work.

Well I have shrinked the purpose of life – a separate post will be for it!

PS: Started with Ayn’s thoughts but ended up blabbering my own view of life (Definetly derived out of the inference Ayn and others like you have offered me!)

8 Responses to Why do she/he wants he/she (Atlas Shruggs – VII)

  1. jkarthi says:

    I’m a fresher(waiting for a deployment) on this subject and so, “I had a great and short reading on life’s most complex issue” can be my prime comment as of now…

    “If you’re in Love, you’re no more peerless then…
    She stands by your side as the only peer” is A BONUS COMMENT πŸ™‚

  2. Yep having that kind of peer will make me earn the real meaning of peerless.

    I will deploy you soon(May that personal management project turn in to an exciting company like google πŸ™‚ too much to dream:))

    Thanks for coming in and dropping by.

  3. Life is full of higher hopes, believe in yourself. “Take up one ided ”

    I strongly believe in the words of Swami Vevekananda

    β€œTake up one idea. Make that one idea your life – think of it, dream of it, live on that idea. Let the brain, muscles, nerves, every part of your body, be full of that idea, and just leave every other idea alone. This is the way to success, that is way great spiritual giants are produced.”

    Good Luck for your future.

  4. I actually see you walking your words.. – My best wishes for it mam. Thanks for visiting my blogs and sharing your wisdom.

  5. Divya says:

    πŸ™‚

    Are we talking about love here ? Well, it is absolutely an amazing experience to be married provided you find the right partner πŸ˜‰ Growing together is a fabulous experience πŸ™‚

    Talking about dependency, i feel it is inevitable not to look for someone around in your life. In many ways we seek companionship πŸ™‚ Keeping the dependency to minimal is better! Emotional dependency can unveil your own self to you πŸ™‚ Personally i feel all of us (Even the ones who don’t display) feel emotionally attached at some point of time to someone. We may grow out of it , but then we do experience it !

    Hank’s and Dagny’s relation is inexplicable(to me). I have thought over it many times but haven’t been able to give myself a satisfying answer πŸ™‚ may be we should discuss it. I wasn’t able to appreciate even Roark and Dominique ‘s relation. I am missing something πŸ™‚

    In my opinion one doesn’t get into a relation to procreate or comply to duties. It is possible , one does to fulfill his/her needs(Of course i am not bringing in other aspects here ).

  6. Thanks Divya for responding to the request in the blog! You guys are role models:) and a proof that marriage isnt always bad!
    I agree with your words about the need and minimal dependency.I have experienced unveiling the self moments too:)
    Hank and Dagny I love them.. They are united by purpose and thoughts. I dont see how Galt and Dagny developed a relationship. Roark and Domnique ..More intense and different love!

    And a verbatim for the final lines.. when you do it thinking that you are gaining something from it, the nature is also satisfied for the gains it made through you!

  7. Divya says:

    Your last lines are something to ponder about πŸ™‚ The conversation we had on this has definitely re-affirmed my thoughts !!

    You have aptly pointed out that Hank and Dagny were – ‘united by purpose and thoughts’.

    Indifference is the emotion they display to camouflage the deeper emotions of love – new insight endorsed πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

